Emergence

Emergenceby Michael Patrick Hicks

As this is a series, let’s introduce this novel in the way that I introduce its predecessor:

Emergence:

  1. The process of coming into view or becoming exposed after being concealed.
  2. The process of coming into being, or of becoming important or prominent.

The problem I have with this novel lies solely in the fact that I do not want to give away anything about this novel.  I’m sure anyone reading this review has read several other reviews that point out specific details or “obvious” facts.  I’m going to do my best to avoid mentioning anything specific about the plot which means that all of the bookmarks and comments I made in my book are now for my eyes only lol.  This means we miss out on some of my “Food for Thought” questions but at least you know you have something to look forward to during your read.

Plot

Can you beat a well written science fiction novel that is also a currently running series?  No, not really.  The DRMR series tells the tale of futuristic, but dystopian, America that fell to the Chinese PRC and has therefore split up into different “factions” and basically left to fend for itself.  Emergence specifically focuses on Jonah’s daughter, Mesa, who exists once again after almost being completely eradicated from her own brain to allow Alice Xie to create a new life for herself.

Now, Jonah and Mesa are on the run.  Jonah is still the protective father figure but his time in the spotlight is done.  Mesa runs the show and she is attempting to recreate her old self and to maintain her fighting skills.  She has become a memorialist and seems to have create a niche for herself that she didn’t seem able to create before.  I personally questioned whether I would strive to recreate the person I was if I lost my memory because it bothered me that Mesa (and this is completely about the character, not the writing) wanted so badly to know who she was before.  I wondered if I would be content to know that I had the memories that were given to me, and a second chance at life, and therefore choose to look forward rather than back.  Rather than isolate yourself.

Writing

Mesa is the main point of view.  I enjoy character jumps but Mesa’s voice was not my favorite of the two (two being her and Jonah).  Her tone sometimes contradicted itself.  One minute she would be calm about something and then the next she would decide to be angry and swear.  Unfortunately, I forgot to mark specific events and I finished the book three weeks ago (I know, I’m a bad reviewer).  I also enjoyed the way Jonah spoke and recollected events.  BUT this is all evidence that Hicks is a good writer because he is able to create distinct characters that are able to derive different responses from the reader.

Personally, Hick’s writing really kills it once he starts a good narrative or an action scene.  This is where I ran into issues with enjoying Mesa’s point of view because she isn’t the narrative type, unlike Jonah.  So it took probably about 60-80 pages for me to truly get into the novel – once the action picked up and we saw more internal narration.

Overall

I made comparisons between the first and second novel because they are both related and yet completely separate tales.  I loved Convergence but I really like Emergence and I believe this is due to the POV and the type of story.  Emergence is more of about the chase – Mesa is chasing herself and someone is chasing her and what she may contain.  It felt like it was setting us up for a larger picture in the next novel (and even for the latter half of the novel).  The reader is introduced to a new range of characters and warning, the death count is high so don’t fall in love with anyone!

*I have received this book in exchange for an honest review*

Book Details:

Title: Emergence (A DRMR Novel, Book 2)

Author: Michael Patrick Hicks

Number of Pages: 412? (My Nook Book only had 271 pages)

Original Release: 04 May 2015

Description:

The thrilling sequel to Convergence!

Still recovering from the events that befell her in Los Angeles, Mesa Everitt is learning how to rebuild her life.

The murder of a memorialist enclave changes all of that and sets into motion a series of violence that forces her into hiding. Hunted by a squad of corporate mercenaries, with the lives of her friends and family in danger, Mesa has no one to turn to, but she holds a dark secret inside her skull. She has no knowledge of that secret, but it is worth killing for.

The ghosts of her haunted, forgotten past are about to emerge.

Book Review Locations:

Amazon

LibraryThing

Gimme yo thoughts!

